Connect with Us

Alumni return for Heritage Homecoming 2019

More than 100 alumni celebrated their memories of Rabun Gap on May 31-June 2
It was an exciting weekend May 31-June 1 as more than 100 alumni and alumni families returned to campus for Heritage Homecoming.
This year’s group of Heritage Homecoming attendees had the opportunity to enjoy lunch and breakfast in the new Richard and John Woodruff Dining Hall. They also witnessed the unveiling of the Alumni Plaza. The Alumni Plaza offers patio dining on the north end of the building overlooking the international flag plaza and barn in the distance. The Alumni Plaza stands as a testament to alumni giving and offers a welcoming spot for students and alumni alike.

Elizabeth and Jon Barnwell’92, Susan and Steve Gilliam’66, Melinda and Ricky James ‘70 and Connie ‘02 and Seth Jones ‘02 were the lead donors on the Alumni Plaza. Each year, a plaque with names of alumni donors will be hung on the patio to celebrate their care of their alma mater and to inspire future philanthropy among new generations of students and alumni.

The annual Heritage Homecoming celebration kicked off Friday, May 31 with afternoon registration and refreshments at the Alumni Heritage Center. The annual Alumni Memorial Chapel Service was held in the Emily and ErnestWoodruff Chapel on Saturday, June 1. Alumni, faculty, and family members gathered to remember the Rabun Gap alumni and employees who have passed away since last year’s event. Head of School Dr. Anthony Sgro offered the Scripture and Homily.

Those honored were:
Marlar ML Carpenter, 1940 HS; 1942 JC
Sue Anderson Vandiver 1942 JC
Leta Keener Murat 1946
Mary Carolyn Philyaw Shirley 1947
Edward Wayne Dickerson 1949
James C. Hogan 1949
David Lee Booker 1950
Carolyn Carnes Brewer 1951
Robert H. Philp, Jr. 1952
Mary Jean Hopper Barber 1953
Ben Hyde 1953
Larry Milton Keener 1954
Thomas E. George 1957
Henry Dwain Ward 1959
Roger Dale Anderson 1962
Lillie Stancil Billingsley 1963
Michael Vincent Geiger 1968
Laura Yarbrough Barron 1969
Kathy Long Blalock 1972
Wallace Gordon Southwell III 1976
James Rogers 1980
Tia Rowe 1985
Ivey Williams Eberly 2003
Lisa Oppelt 2018
Robert “Bob” Bennett, Former Staff
Thomas Poe, Former Faculty
Dr. Karl Anderson, Former Head of School

Head of School Dr. Anthony Sgro and his family attended this year’s Alumni Luncheon held in the new dining hall and Dr. Sgro shared a final farewell to alumni before departing to take on the Head of School role at Asheville School on July 1.

The Alumni Association scholarship recipient, Petey Webster ‘20 of Franklin, NC, addressed alumni in attendance and shared the impact being a student at Rabun Gap has had on him.

Rabun Gap-Nacoochee School is a private, coeducational day and boarding school for grades Pre-K through 12. Centrally located between Atlanta, GA, Greenville, SC, and Asheville, NC, we prepare young people for college, career, and a lifetime of leadership and service.